10 Things Every Mom Should Be Famous For

10) Going to a 4th grade Mother’s Day Lunch at school 48 hours after major surgery simply because your daughter can barely contain the excitement of gifting you a hand-made necklace (a.k.a. prize-winning, elementary school art).

9) Never missing a spelling bee, award ceremony, practice, game or try-out, even for what I’m sure were VERY long JV sports seasons. 😉

8) Going with your daughter the first time she has to make a really big apology to someone she’s hurt, and teaching humility, empathy and that admitting wrong isn’t so bad. Maybe it’s even good.

7) Making sure there was breakfast EVERY single morning (even if Dad was the one to cook it!).

6) Hand-making your daughter’s very favorite Halloween costume (an awesome black kitty cat) and a very creative not-so-favorite Halloween costume (a Bunch a Grapes). Family story that will never get out! 🙂

grapes+for+the+blog

LIKE THIS!

NOT like this.

NOT like this. No, not at all. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5) Saying yes to “Mommy can we keep them? Um…. actually can we keep them BOTH?”

 

4) Teaching young daughters the joy of writing by making up silly rhyming stories about fish. Yes, fish.

we're out of water

3) Making young daughters wait until middle school to wear make-up.

NOPE!. No way. No how.

NOPE!. No way. No how.

2) Cherishing the joy of young daughters singing in the car to “Oreo Speedwagon” on the way to get milkshakes.

"No I can't fight this feelin' anymore. . . I've forgotten what I started fightin' for... Baby, I can't fight this feelin' anymore..." OMNOM!

“No I can’t fight this feelin’ anymore. . . I’ve forgotten what I started fightin’ for… Baby, I can’t fight this feelin’ anymore…” OMNOM!

 

 

1) Telling daughters through whispers and kisses, lovie eyes, grand hugs, and big tears:

“I love you. Great job!”

“I love you. Don’t you ever do that again!”

“I love you. But you’re still grounded for 2 weeks.”

“I love you. Don’t listen to them.”

“I love you. You did your best.”

“I love you. We did it!”

“I love you. When you get older, this will all make sense.”

“I love you. I promise this hurts me more than it does you.”

“I love you. But he’s not good enough for you!”

“I love you. And I love him. He’s perfect for you.”

“I love you. You and your sister are the best gifts any mother could have asked for.”

“I just love you because I’m your mother and I can. I don’t need a reason.”

— I love you, Mom. —

Maybe next time I’ll start the countdown from 100, ’cause there’s plenty more where that came from!

TELL ME, WHAT AMAZING THINGS DID YOU DO FOR YOUR CHILDREN?  WHAT DID YOUR MOM DO FOR YOU?  LET’S CELEBRATE THE GOOD STUFF!

2 responses

Tell us something we don't know! :)

