Reflections of a founder, health advocate and patient

Reflections of a founder, health advocate and patient

This is a day to reflect. The WEGO Health family is reflecting on the inspiring and tireless work Health Activists do every day while we, in turn, reflect on our personal journey.

wego_healthWeGo Health asks, “What are your thoughts and hopes for the future?”

As the founder of The Mesh Warrior Foundation (www.tmwfoundation.org), my thoughts and hopes for the future have become much more concrete and practical.

Last week, a mesh-injured woman cried out to cyberspace and left the Twittersphere to us, to wonder whether she’d wake up from a suicide attempt.

MY DREAM FOR THE NEAR FUTURE IS TO HAVE THE FUNDS TO CREATE A HOTLINE OF MESH-INJURED WOMEN WHO CAN BE THERE FOR HER AND THOUSANDS MORE LIKE HER.

The past few weeks, I’ve been hard at work to plan a fundraiser so the foundation can send a group of injured women to West Virginia in relative comfort in support of the woman who will undergo the next bellwether trial.

MY HOPE IS FOR DONATIONS TO ALLOW THESE WOMEN TO SEE A COURTROOM THAT MAY OFFER JUSTICE TO A WOMAN, AND IN SOME SMALL WAY TO EVERY WOMAN WATCHING, MOST OF WHOM WILL NEVER SEE THEIR OWN COURT DATES.

In the previous month, I’ve been developing a tee shirt for the foundation with my long-term friend partner in all things creative, Scott Springer of Skona Advertising in San Francisco – a tee shirt that women will be proud to wear that will make their “invisible injury” visible to others and help to give them a voice.

MY HOPE IS FOR ENOUGH MONEY TO BUY THE SHIRTS SO THAT I CAN SELL THEM TO HELP WITH THE FOUNDATION’S EXPENSES.

I’ve not been able to attend a trial in support of a mesh-injured woman since last year when I got to know the lovely, Ms. Batiste over her three week trial against Johnson & Johnson.

thyroid changeMY THOUGHTS ARE ABOUT HER. WHEN CAN I SEE HER AGAIN? I’M TIRED OF BEING SICK FROM HASHIMOTO’S THYROIDITIS. I WANT TO DO AND BE MORE FOR MY COMMUNITY. I WANT MY BEAUTIFUL HAIR TO STOP FALLING OUT.

My hopes and thoughts for the future are about IMMEDIATE relief and recognition for the women and men in this country, in your community who are suffering greatly.

MY HOPES FOR THE FUTURE ARE THAT MESH WILL BE REMOVED FROM THE MARKET AND THAT THE DOCTORS WILL STOP LISTENING TO THE MANUFACTURERS AND INSTEAD LISTEN TO THAT INNER VOICE THAT SAYS, “PETROCHEMICAL WASTE IN THE FORM OF A PERMANENT PLASTIC IMPLANT IS NOT COMPATIBLE WITH LIFE.”

My hopes and dreams are now inextricably linked with my own mother’s hopes and dreams.

I HOPE MY MOTHER CAN GET OUT OF BED TODAY. I HOPE I CAN SEE HER AGAIN SOON. I HOPE HER INJURY DOES NOT TAKE HER FROM ME TOO SOON. SHE’S ONLY 60 YEARS OLD.

Maybe Ms. Washington will help us.

Maybe Ms. Washington will help us.

My hopes and dreams for the future are practical, direct and achievable, so why won’t people listen? Have we not learned ANYTHING from the lessons of history?

I HOPE THAT TODAY, SOMEONE IMPORTANT ENOUGH WILL LISTEN TO ME, WILL TAKE THIS INJURY SERIOUSLY AND WILL HELP US STOP THE PREVENTABLE HARM, STOP THE MEDICAL HOLOCAUST.  #HAWMC

TO DONATE TO #TMWF, visit: https://themeshwarriorfoundation.nationbuilder.com/donate

Herta Oberhauser, who was a physician at the Ravenbrueck concentration camp, is sentenced at the Doctors Trial in Nuremberg. Oberhauser was found guilty of performing medical experiments on camp inmates and was sentenced to 20 years in prison. Nuremberg, Germany, August 20, 1947. — National Archives and Records Administration, College Park, Md.

Herta Oberhauser, who was a physician at the Ravenbrueck concentration camp, is sentenced at the Doctors Trial in Nuremberg. Oberhauser was found guilty of performing medical experiments on camp inmates and was sentenced to 20 years in prison. Nuremberg, Germany, August 20, 1947.
— National Archives and Records Administration, College Park, Md.

2 responses

  1. HI, I HAD TO HAVE THE MESH CUT, I HAVE HAD ALL KIND PROBLEMS’
    I BOWEL AND BLADDER MESH. AND DOCTOR THINK I DEPRESSED AND SO
    WHAT I HAVE DECIDED TO DO,IS LET NATURE TAKES ITS COURSE
    I’m A SENIOR AND I HAVE ENOUGH. I HAVE MY FAITH.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Mary – I am so deeply sorry for your injury. The path for each person is so different. I am glad that you have a strong faith. I hope you can connect with some other injured women here. The friendships many have made help them through this difficult journey.

      Like

Tell us something we don't know! :)

