“A Doctor A Day” Keeps This Study Away/Novant Health Urology Partners, Winston-Salem, NC

Hello Warriors!

Dr. John J. Smith, III of Novant Urology Partners in Winston-Salem, NC

Dr. John J. Smith, III of Novant Urology Partners in Winston-Salem, NC

Please be aware if you live in the Winston-Salem area. Dr. John J Smith, III of Novant Health Urology Partners is recruiting for implant of new women in a study sponsored by Coloplast and ordered by the FDA.

Restorelle® Mesh Versus Native Tissue Repair for Prolapse

Novant Health Clinical Research

Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States, 27103

Contact: Kim Robinson       krrobinson@novanthealth.org

Principal Investigator: John J Smith, III, MD


A Crazy Little Thing Called Hope

In the midst of working our way through the crazy-making maze of our healthcare system as it is now, how do we stay HEALTHY? How do we avoid danger?

I am not suggesting that you follow this physician’s advice, but I find it very telling. The last time I was in the ER with my mom, her admitting ER physician came to speak with me about some of her test results. Completely unsolicited, the FIRST thing he said to me was,

“The best way to keep your mom healthy is to keep her away from doctors.”

WOW! This unsolicited advice from a doctor I had NEVER met, who knew very little about my mother’s medical history! Honestly, I was not surprised he said it. I was just surprised it was the FIRST THING OUT OF HIS MOUTH!

While we still have the ability to CHOOSE which doctor we believe will best provide care for our speciality care needs and our total health, we can continue to educate ourselves – about our personal medical history, medical terminology, and the benefits and risks of any medications or treatments that may be recommended to us by our healthcare professionals.

Pause-iconLately, I’ve been learning to “push the pause button.” Stop and think. If my doctor recommends a treatment, it’s responsible for me to research the risks and benefits and then ask for a second consultation once I have more education about any treatment that will affect my body and my life.

So today, as you think about your own life, your own body, your own health; think about pressing the pause button. Stop. Think. Research. Consult. Decide. All of those actions do not have to be done in one consultation with your doctor.

YOU are the most important person in the room when you’re with any doctor. After all, it’s your life. With “pressing pause” comes hope and a renewed sense of control over your own health destiny. I hope this little, seemingly obvious, technique helps you regain a sense of your options and a sense that YOU are the MVP in your healthcare decisions.

Tell us something we don't know! :)

